Coming Down the Mountain


Sample Track:  Hurt so Good

Chapel Hill’s indie Americana quartet Mipso, influenced by the contradiction of its progressive home and the surrounding rural southern landscapes, Mipso has been hailed as “hewing surprisingly close to gospel and folk while still sounding modern and secular” (Acoustic Guitar). Mipso was recently recognized by Rolling Stone as an “Artist You Need to Know.” The band brings a distinctly unique sound – full of wistful beauty, hopeful undercurrents, and panoramic soundscapes. Venturing ever-further from its string-band pedigree to discover a broader Americana where classic folk-rock and modern alt-country sounds mingle easily with Appalachian tradition, Mipso’s music is lush and forward moving, with lyrics that sear and salve in turn.

Jacob Sharp (mandolin, vocals), Wood Robinson (bass, vocals), Joseph Terrell (guitar, vocals), and Libby Rodenbough (fiddle, vocals)

Track List:

  1. Coming Down the Mountain
  2. Hurt so Good
  3. Spin Me Round
  4. Cry Like Somebody
  5. Monterey County
  6. Hallelujah
  7. My Burden with Me
  8. Train Down the Line
  9. Talking in My Sleep
  10. Water Runs Red